Nontoxic Megan

Living a healthy life (the best way I can)

To eat gluten or not eat gluten

on October 6, 2013

I love carbs. I love bread, pasta, and crackers. I would love to eat Wonder white bread at every meal. Instead, I’ve filled our house with whole grains. Now however, we have some other things to consider.

There is a lot of research on the effects of gluten on the body. It makes me cringe very time I hear it because, if I didn’t already make it clear, I love gluten. Here’s the thing. I have a child struggling with an illness that could be greatly improved by eliminating gluten from her diet. That changes the stakes. Now “mom mode” kicks in. I have told her from the beginning I am willing to do anything to help her and apparently that includes giving up some of my favorite foods.

So this is the start of our family’s journey away from gluten. We are going at it as a whole family and will commit to 30 days. The first (huge) hurdle, getting my teenager on board, has been met so now I need to figure out what we are going to eat! I have two loaves of bread baking right now and we are exploring new foods every day!

If anyone has any suggestions, please share and don’t be surprised if you see a future post titled “I miss bread”.


Leave a comment